21
Jul
09

designing the cover

800px-Flag_of_JapanWhile contemplating different cover designs, the idea to use the image of the Japanese flag as the backdrop came to me when I noticed that the dimension ratios for a standard novel are the same as a flag (3:2).

I wanted to create an original type font that would grab the readers’ attention while preserving a Japanese feel (there are many fonts on the market that mimic Chinese characters, and that’s not what I was after). There are three main scripts in the Japanese writing system:

kanji kanji, taken from chinese characters

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

hiraganahiragana, an alphabet used to write ‘Japanese’ words

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

katakanakatakana, an alphabet used to write ‘foreign’ words

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

Since I was writing ‘foreign’ English words, it was logical to use the katakana script as a base for my personal font.

katakana alphaI first took characters that looked similar to English letters, and used them directly in the book title.

rFor the other letters, I took pieces of different character strokes, and brought them together to create the remaining letters in the title.

book font finished product


Leave a comment


Subscribe to receive blogs by email